April 24, 2021

Singapore District Map: Defining the CCR, RCR and OCR by Districts

What is CCR, RCR and OCR? Where do these regions fit in the Singapore district map?

Singaporeans sure love acronyms, and the same goes for the real estate sector. Broadly, the Urban Redevelopment Authority (URA) has divided Singapore into three main regions, which the URA calls "market segments".

These regions are: Core Central Region (CCR), Rest of Central Region (RCR) and the Outside Central Region (OCR). These regions also contain all 28 of Singapore districts:

Singapore regions Postal districts it covers
Core Central Region (CCR) 9, 10 and 11, and parts of 1, 2, 4, 6 and 7
Rest of Central Region (RCR) 3, 8 and 12, and parts of 1, 2, 4, 5, 6, 7, 13, 14, 15 and 20
Outside Central Region (OCR)  16 to 19, 22, 23 and 25 to 28, and parts of 5, 14, 15 and 20


Singapore District Map: CCR, RCR and OCR

The boundaries of these regions are anything but clear cut, so here's a map that could help:

CCR OCR RCR city fringe Singapore property map

Want to know more? Here's the rundown of all three Singapore regions.


Core Central Region (CCR): City, Downtown Core and Sentosa

The Core Central Region, also known as the CCR, includes the traditional prime areas of Singapore (i.e. postal districts 9, 10 and 11), the Downtown Core (including parts of Bugis south of Ophir Road), as well as Sentosa.

This is where most high-end, luxury properties in Singapore can be found. Many of the private residential properties in the CCR are also freehold in tenure.

Singapore Postal District Area
9 Orchard, Somerset, River Valley
10 Tanglin, Bukit Timah, Holland
11 Newton, Novena, Dunearn, Watten
1 (Part) Boat Quay, Raffles Place, Marina Downtown, Suntec City
2 (Part) Shenton Way, Tanjong Pagar
4 (Part) Sentosa
6 (Part) City Hall
7 (Part) Bugis

What's not part of the CCR: Outram, Clarke Quay, Chinatown, Bencoolen and anything north of Ophir Road

Our take on the CCR: Even though the CCR might be made up mostly of high-end properties, there can still be a few value finds.

Check out these properties available for sale in prime districts 9, 10 and 11 and you'll know what we're talking about!


Rest of Central Region (RCR): Central Areas That Are Not Part of CCR

The Rest of Central Region, also known as the RCR, is sandwiched between the CCR and the Outside Central Region (OCR). 

The RCR is regarded as the intermediate, or mid-tier, region in terms of pricing, between the mass market condos in the OCR region and the high-value properties in the CCR. However, as our Property Market Outlook 2020 shows, the gap is closing between RCR and CCR properties, particularly in districts where urban development, renewal and infrastructure growth has taken place.

Singapore Postal District Area
1 (Part) Marina South
2 (Part) Chinatown
3 Queenstown, Alexandra, Tiong Bahru
4 (Part) Harbourfront, Keppel, Telok Blangah
5 (Part) Buona Vista, Dover, Pasir Panjang
6 (Part) Fort Canning
7 (Part) Rochor
8 Little India, Farrer Park
12 Balestier, Whampoa, Toa Payoh
Boon Keng, Bendemeer, Kampong Bugis
13 (Part) Potong Pasir, Bidadari, MacPherson, Upper Aljunied
14 (Part) Geylang, Dakota, Paya Lebar Central
Eunos, Ubi, Aljunied
15 (Part) Tanjong Rhu, Amber, Meyer, Katong
Dunman, Joo Chiat, Marine Parade
20 (Part) Bishan, Thomson

What's not part of the RCR: Upper Serangoon, How Sun, Ang Mo Kio, Clementi, Telok Kurau, Kembangan

Our take on the RCR: The RCR benefits from the confluence of demand from various buyer groups, from investors to owner-occupiers, and from young families to empty nesters.


Outside Central Region (OCR): Everywhere Else in Singapore

The Outside Central Region (RCR) is about three-quarters the size of Singapore, and basically refers to areas where mass-market condos at the lower range of price points are located, including executive condominiums (ECs). You could say that these places are "suburbs", but this would give a false impression of remoteness.

Here's the thing: with excellent MRT connectivity around the island, the OCR is a very viable and affordable housing option even for those who work in the city, with resale condo prices as low as $800 per square foot (psf). 

The government also has plans to bring high-value jobs to the OCR, in the form of Jurong Second CBD, Punggol Digital District and Woodlands Regional Centre.

Private residential projects in the OCR are also typically larger, with condos usually clocking in at 300 units or above, barring some boutique developments that are typically located among landed property enclaves.

OCR properties are also mostly 99-year leasehold.

Singapore Postal District Area
5 (Part) Clementi, West Coast
14 (Part) Kembangan, Kaki Bukit
15 (Part) Telok Kurau, Siglap, Frankel
16 Bedok, Upper East Coast, Bayshore
Tanah Merah, Upper Changi
17 Flora Drive, Loyang, Changi
18 Tampines, Pasir Ris
19 Punggol, Sengkang, Hougang, Kovan
Serangoon, Lor Ah Soo
20 (Part) Ang Mo Kio
22 Jurong East, Jurong West, Boon Lay
23 Hillview, Bukit Panjang, Bukit Batok, Choa Chu Kang
25 Woodlands, Admiralty
26 Lentor, Springleaf, Mandai
27 Yishun, Sembawang
28 Seletar, Seletar Hill, Sengkang West

Our take on the OCR: Given the stiff competition between projects across various OCR locations, developers are pulling out all the stops to lure buyers.

Attractive pricing is only one thing; given the larger size and higher unit counts of OCR projects, developers can afford to include show-stopping facilities, making the projects particularly appealing to young couples and millennial families.

According to recent transaction data from URA, the most popular OCR districts are 5, 17 and 19, thanks to a succession of newly launched condominiums in these areas. 


More FAQs Around the Regions of Singapore

What is CCR, RCR and OCR?

CCR, RCR and OCR stand for Core Central Region, Rest of Central Region and Outside Central Region, which are the three main regions of Singapore.

What is CCR Property?

CCR property refers to properties in the Core Central Regions of 9, 10 and 11, the Downtown Core and Sentosa. 

What Is Considered Central Singapore?

Singapore's Central Region is made up of 22 URA planning areas that are Downtown Core, Orchard, Marina East, Marina South, Museum, Newton, Outram, River Valley, Rochor, Singapore River, Straits View, Bishan, Bukit Merah, Bukit Timah, Geylang, Kallang, Marine Parade, Novena, Queenstown, Southern Islands, Tanglin and Toa Payoh.

Does Singapore Have Districts?

Yes, there are 28 Singapore districts. You can search for properties on PropertyGuru with our District Search filter. 


For more property news, resources and useful content like this article, check out PropertyGuru’s guides section

Are you looking to buy a new home? Head to PropertyGuru to browse the top properties for sale in Singapore.  

Already found a new home? Let PropertyGuru Finance's home finance advisors help you with financing it.


Compare listings


What you must know before buying Singapore property…

Subscribe to our mailing list